First Foray Into Dating Butches

So, I wound up going on my first date with a butch a couple of weeks ago.

Backstory:  I met an older butch (who will henceforth be referred to as OB) at a club a few weeks ago.  We both seemed to notice each other, and, long story short, she gave me her number before leaving with a friend.  I was both very caught off guard and flattered; I’ve always been under the impression that there’s a lot more butch-on-butch homophobia within the older lesbian community.  Anyways, we wound up texting back and forth, and I was upfront with her about my recent breakup and consequential lack of readiness for anything serious.

So, she wound up asking me to dinner, and I said yes.  I’m so glad I did, because I had a really great time with her.  I did realize that I didn’t feel romantically compatible with someone that much older than me, but we still had a really nice dinner. She’s hilarious and down to earth and just very, very fun to be around.  I really enjoy her company, and I think we’re going to be good friends for some time to come.

I must say, that date was remarkably validating in terms of solidifying my attraction to butches.  Sometimes I forget how much little gender play or power play things can affect me.  I found it really hot that she was taking me out– paying for dinner and all that.  As someone who has really only dated femmes before, this was a new experience for me.  And even though the romantic compatibility factor wasn’t there, the dynamics of that date were hot.  Like, I-couldn’t-stop-thinking-about-it-for-days hot.

All I could think of afterwards is “Shit, how could it have possibly taken me this long to figure out that this is what I’m into?”

About butchonbutch

A 20-something year old butch who has recently come to terms with their attraction to other butches (and studs and tomboys and androgynous dykes). I'll be discussing my experiences in the world of butch on butch dating, love, and sex. If you want to know more about me, click the "About" tab at the top of the page.

Posted on November 12, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Make sure you keep her around, butches tend to travel in packs and she may know of someone perfect for you!

    • That is an excellent point! That hadn’t even occurred to me.

      Yeah, she and I are kind of tossing around the idea of having something casual, so I’m not sure at this point how she’d feel about me dating a friend of hers, haha, but I will definitely keep that in mind! Thanks for the advice 🙂

Leave a Reply

